First ERC Advanced Grants Competition: 14 Nordic Winners

The European Research Council (ERC) has published the first successful candidates in the ERC Advanced Grants competition. 14 Nordic researchers are among the grantees so far. Markku Kulmala, head of one of NordForsk’s Nordic Centres of Excellence on Global Change , is one of three winners from Finland.
 First ERC Advanced Grants Competition: 14 Nordic Winners
– I feel like a gold medalist, but nobody can do this kind of research alone. The Nordic network has been and will continue to be an important part of my project, a pleased Markku Kulmala says.

Winners in Two Domains Published
The first successful candidates in the ERC Advanced Grants competition in the domain Physical Sciences and Engineering (PE) were announced this summer. Competition was extremely hard as the ERC received 997 applications by the deadline 28 February 2008. The peer review process in the PE domain ran from March to June and involved ten evaluation
panels, which have selected 105 Advanced Grants candidates. A list of the first winners in
this domain is available here.

On 29 August the first successful candidates in the domain Social Sciences and Humanities (SH) were also made public. So far 44 Advanced Grant candidates have been selected. A list of these first SH domain winners is available here.

14 Nordic Grantees
As many as eight researchers from Swedish host institutions will receive ERC Advanced Grants within the two domains processed so far. There are seven Swedish winners within the PE domain and one within the SH domain. Denmark and Finland are represented by three grantees each in the PE domain and one each within the SH domain. There were no winners from Norway or Iceland.

The list of the first winners in the domain of Life Sciences and the domain of Interdisciplinary research are due in the beginning of October. The complete lists of candidates having passed the scientific excellence criterion in each domain will be made public thereafter, the ERC reports in a press release.

The Nordic winners in the domain Physical Sciences and Engineering are:

Prof. Flemming Besenbacher, Aarhus Universitet: Video-rate Scanning Probe Microscopy Imaging of Nanostructures on Surfaces
Prof. Ib Henning Madsen, University of Copenhagen: Topology of Moduli Spaces and Strings

Prof. Markku Tapio Kulmala, Helsingin yliopisto: Atmospheric nucleation: from molecular to global scale
Prof. Antti Jukka Kupiainen, Helsingin yliopisto: Mathematical Physics of Out-of-Equilibrium Systems

Prof. Axel Brandenburg, Kungliga Tekniska Högskolan: Astrophysical Dynamos
Prof. Johan Håstad, Kungliga Tekniska Högskolan: Approximation of NP-hard optimization problems
Prof. Lars Hultman, Linköpings Universitet: Self-Organized Nanostructuring in Functional Thin Film Materials
Prof. Anne L‘Huillier, Lund University: Attosecond Control of Light and Matter
Prof. Bengt Nordén, Chalmers tekniska högskola AB: Supramolecular Motive Power
Prof. Björn Ottersten, Kungliga Tekniska Högskolan: Systems for Communications, Biomedicine, and Defense
Prof. Villy Sundström, Lund University: Visualizing Molecular Change

The Nordic winners in the domain Social Sciences and the Humanities are:

Prof. Kirsten Hastrup, University of Copenhagen: Waterworlds Waterworlds: Natural environmental disasters and social resilience in anthropological perspective

Prof. Bo Stråth, University of Helsinki, Centre for Nordic
Studies: Between Restoration and Revolution, National Constitutions and Global Law: an Alternative View on the European Century 1815-1914

Prof. Per Krusell, Stockholms universitet: Quantitative dynamic macroeconomic analysis of global climate change and inequality