Habermas awarded Holberg Prize

Today the German philosopher Jürgen Habermas is awarded the international Holberg prize for outstanding achievements in the humanities, social sciences, law and theology.
Norway‘s Minister of Knowledge, Øystein Djupedal, will present the award.

New perspectives on democracy and law
Citation of the Holberg Prize Academic Committee: “Jürgen Habermas has developed path-breaking theories of discourse and communicative action and thereby provided new perspectives on law and democracy. His research is thematically wide ranging and has had exceptional interdisciplinary impact. Habermas has significantly contributed to the understanding of rationality, ethics, legitimation, critical public discussion, modernity, the post-national society and European integration."

Niels Klim Prize to Truslew Haug
The Board of the Ludvig Holberg Memorial Fund has decided to award the Nils Klim Prize 2005 to Doctor Artium Dag Trygve Truslew Haug, Assosiate Professor of Latin at the Department of Philosophy, Classics, History of Art and Ideas at the University of Oslo.

Citation of the Nils Klim Prize Academic Committee:
"Dag Trygve Truslew Haug is an unusually sharp, versatile and talented linguist, who has attained a prominent position in the field of classical linguistics at the age of only 29. His fields of research include both traditional historical linguistics and modern linguistics applied to classical languages."

Upcoming events…