Strategic Investments in Danish University Research

The Danish Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation has established a new initiative to strengthen research at Danish Universities. – This is a very interesting initiative, says Jarle Aarbakke, board member of The Nordic Universities Association. The initiative Investment Capital for University Research is entitled UNIK.
 Strategic Investments in Danish University Research
The Danish Minister for science, technology and innovation, Helge Sander, has appointed 11 members of an international expert group to review applications for a pool of 500 Millions DKK.

Invites Nordic Prime Ministers into Dialogue
Jarle Aarbakke, professor at the University of Tromsø and chairman of the Norwegian Association of Higher Education Institutions, chairs the expert group. He accentuates the importance of Nordic collaboration in a press release from the Danish Ministry for Science, Technology and Development 12 February 2008. – Members of the Nordic university and research communities have a lot to learn from each other, Aarbakke says. He has invited the Nordic Prime Ministers into dialogue in order to enhance Nordic strategies for higher education and research.

The International Expert Group
The International expert panel of the Danish UNIK initiative are to review large future investments within Danish university research. The panel members must therefore be excellent researchers on an international level. The appointed members represent all scientific disciplines and have solid experience in university management and international peer review.

In addition to the chairman Jarle Aarbakke, the appointed members are:

Rektor, professor Harriet Wallberg-Henriksen, Karolinska Institutet, Sweden.
Professor Leena Peltonen-Palotie, University of Helsinki, Finland.
Professor Bart de Moor, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium.
Professor Klavs F. Jensen, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA.
Professor Martin J. Kropff, Wageningen University, Holland.
Professor Pär Omling, Lund University, Sweden.
Professor Olli Ikkala, Helsinki University of Technology, Finland.
Professor Geoffrey Channon, University of the West of England, UK.
Professor Lennart Hjalmarsson, University of Gothenburg, Sweden.
Professor Emeritus Helga Haftendorn, Freie Universität Berlin, Germany.

Calls for Proposals Subscribe to rss feed of calls for proposals
There are currently no open calls
Upcoming events…