The NordForsk board is appointed by the Nordic Council of Ministers and has the overall responsibility for the operations of NordForsk.

The board is responsible for the organisation's strategy, economy and personnel policy - within the framework set by the Nordic Council of Ministers.

The NordForsk Board includes representatives of the largest national research funding agencies in Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden, a representative for Nordic University Cooperation (NUS), as well as observers from the Faroe Islands, Greenland, Åland and the Nordic Council of Ministers.

The chairmanship of the NordForsk Board circulates among the board members.

Here you can find meeting minutes from previous NordForsk Board meetings.

National research councils

Lars Kloo - Chair
Secretary General, Scientific Council for Natural and Engineering Sciences, The Swedish Research Council

Riitta Maijala - Vice Chair
Vice President for Research, Academy of Finland

Kristin Danielsen
Director, International staff, The Research Council of Norway

Ragnhildur Helgadóttir
Dean, Reykjavik University

Gitte Agerhus
Head of office, Danish Agency for Science, Technology and Innovation

Vidar Leif Haanes
Rector, Norwegian School of Theology


Faroe Islands
Annika Sølvará
Director, Granskingarrád Føroya/The Faroese Research Council

Josephine Nymand
Chairman of the Greenland Research Council

Jonas Waller
Rector, Åland University of Applied Sciences

Nordic Council of Ministers
Christina Springfeldt
Head of the Department of Knowledge and Welfare (KV)